Janet Kaplan

Janet Kaplan is the author of three books: The Groundnote, published by Alice James Books, The Glazier’s Country, winner of the 2003 Poets Out Loud Prize and published by Fordham University Press, and Dreamlife of a Philanthropist: Prose Poems & Prose Sonnets, selected by Cornelius Eady, Orlando Menes, and Joyelle McSweeney for the 2011 Ernest Sandeen Prize, and just out from the University of Notre Dame Press. “…[I]n poems whose wit cannot be told apart from their momentum, we find thinking at work against itself, undoing conclusion, battling intent, in order to recover some lost ground of form’s unconscious foundation,” poet Dan Beachy-Quick writes about Dreamlife. And Fence critic Karla Kelsey writes, “[T]he voice here charms, leading us into a landscape of Tender Buttons meets Claes Oldenburg or Rene Magritte.” Janet is the publisher and editor of Red Glass Books, a new chapbook series, whose first volume, Swimming to America, by Patricia Spears Jones is forthcoming this fall. She is a professor of poetry and creative writing at Hofstra University. [from Poets & Writers]


chronicles recto copychronicles verso 1 copy

Chronicles; letter pressed cover and hand sewn. Printed in an edition of 100. $10 domestic, $15 international

domestic orders:

international orders:

1 thought on “Janet Kaplan

  1. Pingback: Gwarlingo – The Sunday Poem: Janet Kaplan

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s